Google Is Making It Easier to Protect Your Information After Youre Gone
Posted: May 28, 2013
Author: WordJack Media
So much of our personal and company information is ingrained into an online presence that it’s hard to think about what will happen to that information after you pass on. Now, one web agency is ensuring their services can be put to rest with you.
Google has recently announced that they have launched an “Inactive Account Manager”. This new tool will allow you to tell Google what you want done with your accounts when you die. By setting a determined inactivity period (three, six, nine, or twelve months) you can opt to have all of your information deleted from Gmail, YouTube, Google Drive, and Google+, or select up to 10 trusted contacts who can receive your data.
These features are not only important on a personal level, but can be advantageous to business owners that have a substantial online presence through their company. Ensuring that their partners, employees, or a hired web agency can continue to receive or recall important information stored in Google accounts can be extremely beneficial if you have suffered an accident or passed away unexpectedly.
One thing to note is that the contacts of your choosing will not receive passwords to your accounts, so they will not be able to send data as you, but they will be able to receive your data in their own accounts.
After all the tasks that you have outlined in the Inactive Account Manager are complete, you will be given the option to have your account deleted, including shared and private data.
You can access the Inactive Account Manager on your Google account settings page.